Knowing my worth

I have spent years of my life being a victim of bullying. With my quiet persona,braided hair and gap in my teeth…I guess I was an easy target. I was given the impression by my peers that looking and being different was a bad thing, something to be laughed at. I am an over-thinker by nature and spend years of your life hearing that you are unattractive…it does set in. It is the moment you allow other peoples opinions to set in that you yourself cause the most damage.

I received a message last year from one of the boys who bullied me in high school apologising for the way he treated me. He said that he was reminiscing about his past and making me feel the way I felt and treating me the way he did, was one of his worst mistakes. I replied saying; “although you and your group of friends made my school life hell, I honestly would not have changed a thing because it is the struggles and pain i have encountered in my life that has made me the head strong woman I am today.”

Use your past as a motivator to better yourself both physically and emotionally. I for one am at a time in my life where I can honestly say that if you chose to dislike me …I feel sorry for you because I would be a great friend to have. Always know your worth. Just because some people can’t see it….you know what what you are worth so don’t give a damn. xxxx

Leave a Reply

